Return to Headlines

Northwest R-I School District Names 2022-23 Award Winners and Teachers of the Year 

Northwest Superintendent Dr. Jennifer Hecktor and members of the Northwest Leadership Team surprised Northwest High School math teacher Cynthia Niebling to let her know she was named the 2022-23 Northwest District Teacher of the Year. Pictured (l-r) Dr. Jennifer Hecktor, Dr. Grace Green, Mary Smith, Niebling, Dr. Doréan Dow, Mark Catalana, and Mark Janiesch.   

The Northwest R-I School District has announced their award winners and Teachers of the Year for the 2022-23 school year. 

Winners of the Golden Bell Award for 2022-23 are Lisa Barnhart, executive assistant at the Northwest Administrative Center, Diane Riordan, instructional technology specialist at House Springs Elementary, and Keri Speh, bookkeeping at the Northwest Administrative Center. 

The winners of the Apple Award for 2022-23 are Robert Atchisson, English teacher at Northwest High School, Dr. Liz Green, assistant principal at Woodridge Middle School, and Amanda Rideout, speech therapist at Maple Grove Elementary. 

The PreK-Elementary Teacher of the Year is Carrie Baker, teacher at the Northwest Early Childhood Center. The Middle School Teacher of the Year is Nicole Crull, social studies teacher at Valley Middle School. The High School Teacher of the Year is Cynthia Niebling, math teacher at Northwest High School. Niebling was also named the District Teacher of the Year. 

Captain Mike Rees from the High Ridge Fire Department was named the PRIDE Award winner. 

All award winners are nominated by staff and community members, with a selection committee determining the winners. Golden Bell and Apple Award winners are for support staff and certified teachers who show excellent character, performance, and service to the district. Teachers of the Year have been employed by the Northwest district for at least four years, show enthusiasm and knowledge for their discipline, display strong teaching and communication skills, dedication, and pride in their work. The PRIDE Award winner is a community member or patron who goes above and beyond in their impact and benefit to the district. 

The winners will be officially recognized at the district award ceremony in April.