Return to Headlines

Northwest Announces Award Winners and Teachers of the Year for 2021-22

Elise Cobb and Desi KirchhoferThe Northwest R-I School District has announced their award winners and Teachers of the Year for the 2021-22 school year. 

Winners of the Apple Award for 2021-22 are Andrea Lackro, special education teacher at Northwest High School, Alysha Oliger, counselor at Valley Middle School, and Kerri Shelton, first grade teacher at House Springs Elementary. 

The winners of the Golden Bell Award for 2021-21 are Cara Kirby-House, applied behavior analyst at Valley Middle School, Jessica Pool, paraprofessional at Maple Grove Elementary, and Michelle Schmoll, health room assistant at Northwest High School. 

The Elementary Teacher of the Year is Mindy Iezzi, second grade teacher at Brennan Woods Elementary.
The Middle School Teacher of the Year is Elise Cobb, social studies teacher at Woodridge Middle School, and the High School Teacher of the Year is Ashley Schmied, English and language arts teacher at Northwest High School. The district teacher of the year is Elise Cobb, Woodridge Middle School.

The PRIDE Award goes to Steve and Vicki Tamboli from the Brenden’s Backpack organization.

All award winners are nominated by staff and community members, with a selection committee determining the winners. Golden Bell and Apple Award winners are for support staff and certified teachers who show excellent character, performance, and service to the district. Teachers of the Year have been employed by the Northwest district for at least four years, show enthusiasm and knowledge for their discipline, display strong teaching and communication skills, dedication, and pride in their work. The PRIDE Award winner is a community member or patron who goes above and beyond in their impact and benefit to the district. 

The winners will be officially recognized at the district award ceremony in April.