Return to Headlines

Northwest School District Announces Staff Award Winners for 2020-21

Dr. Kirchhofer and Krista Lenzen The Northwest R-I School District announced their staff award winners for the 2020-21 school year.

Winners of the Apple Award for 2020-21 are Aubrey Bauer, Maple Grove Elementary administrative intern, Nora Cantrell, Brennan Woods Elementary first grade teacher, and Ann Frankowski, director of Health Services.

The winners of the Golden Bell Award for 2020-21 are Tammy Hawks, Cedar Springs Elementary paraprofessional, Sue O’Shea, Woodridge Middle School administrative assistant, and Melissa Seaman, Northwest High School day custodian. 

The Elementary Teacher of the Year is Krista Lenzen, fourth grade teacher at Cedar Springs Elementary. The Middle School Teacher of the Year is Thomas Laybourn, science teacher at Woodridge Middle School. The HIgh School Teacher of the Year is Carl Wood, Northwest High School English and language arts teacher.

All award winners are nominated by staff and community members, with a selection committee determining the winners. Golden Bell and Apple Award winners are for support staff and certified teachers who show excellent character, performance, and service to the district. Teachers of the Year have been employed by the Northwest district for at least four years, show enthusiasm and knowledge for their discipline, display strong teaching and communication skills, dedication, and pride in their work.

The winners will be officially recognized at the district award ceremony in April.

Pictured (l-r) Elementary Teacher of the Year Krista Lenzen and Northwest Superintendent Dr. Desi Kirchhofer